Policy Service


The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is the highest-level, most extensive and most influential economic cooperation mechanism in the Asia-Pacific region. Its Energy Working Group (EWG) is China’s most important multilateral platform for energy cooperation and exchange. Energy cooperation under the APEC framework is China's longest-standing international energy cooperation mechanism. Since China became an APEC member economy in 1991, the National Energy Administration has been the specific unit for energy cooperation under the mechanism in China.

At present, under the APEC EWG framework, there is four expert groups-APEC Expert Group on Energy Data and Analysis (EGEDA), the APEC Expert Group on New and Renewable Energy Technologies (EGNRET), the APEC Expert Group on Clean Fossil Energy (EGCFE) and the APEC Expert Group on Energy Efficiency and Conservation (EGEEC), two tack forces - Low Carbon Model Town Task Force(LCMT-TF) and Energy Resiliency Task Force(ER-TF), and two research centers - Asia-Pacific Energy Research Center(APERC) and APEC Sustainable Energy Center(APSEC).

In order to further regulate the participation of domestic institutions in APEC energy-related activities, promote the cooperation of China in the APEC Energy Working Group, and enhance the influence of the work results, the National Energy Administration took the lead in setting up the “Network of Chinese Participation in APEC Energy Cooperation” in September 2017. The network aims to establish a regulated mechanism by integrating competitive Chinese energy resources, guiding Chinese units to actively participate in the project declaration and implementation under APEC mechanism, providing technical and intellectual support for China's work in the APEC Energy Working Group, and contributing to the APEC Energy Ministers Meeting and Leaders’ Summits.

Copyright © 2018 APEC Sustainable Energy Center. All Rights Reserved.